Ever Thine. Ever Mine. Ever Ours.

Those of you who watch the movie Sex and The City, probably remembers vividly the scene where Carrie and Big (on bed) looking for inspirations so Big can write his wedding vows… of course you urban woman out there can recall that scene rite?, same as the guys remember the horse scene from Godfather…

so yes…for Woman, the show Sex and the City is like our ‘Discovery Channel’..

… I recall that scene because Carrie read out-loud a love letter from a book..and it was definetely an ‘aww’ moment from the movie…

and of course because of Carrie, that ‘aww’ moment became phenomenal…

Inspired from that scene, i would like for Ivan to make me a love letter, along with the Mahar he’ll give me on our wedding day… I think in the future, it will be great to read it once in a while…and something to remind us how sweet we can be… :)

o, wait a minute…Mahar is a gift given by the groom to the bride after the solemnisation ceremony. It symbolises the beginning of a husband’s responsibility towards his wife in fulfilling her everyday needs. - quoted

so what road we may bumped in to…(hopefully) that letter can be our highway ticket…

I took the opportunity to search that book when i traveled to New York last year… it was like a sugar trail for me to sniff…i was in New York, so i might as well search for the book that became Phenomenal…

Originally, i looked for the same book that carrie had in the movie, I went to famous book stores in town, and apparently they don’t publish it no more…even when i went to Amazon.com, still hard to find….

so i go search the next best thing…still the same book, but different publisher…

{original one i was looking for}

My dear friend Hanum who i crashed-in New York introduced me to a good deal book store near her apartment, called Book Culture. It gives really gooood price. Turns out they have the book and sold it for only $5.95, and the actual list price wa $16.95. 

{the day Hanum and I bought the book}

“Love letters of great men”, in great memory of NY..

Good morning, on 7 July

Even in bed my ideas yearn towards you, my Immortal Beloved, here and there joyfully, then again sadly, awaiting from Fate, whether it will listen to us. I can only live, either altogether with you or not at all. Yes, I have determined to wander about for so long far away, until I can fly into your arms and call myself quite at home with you, can send my soul enveloped by yours into the realm of spirits – yes, I regret, it must be. You will get over it all the more as you know my faithfulness to you; never another one can own my heart, never – never! O God, why must one go away from what one loves so, and yet my life in W. as it is now is a miserable life. Your love made me the happiest and unhappiest at the same time. At my actual age I should need some continuity, sameness of life – can that exist under our circumstances? Angel, I just hear that the post goes out every day – and must close therefore, so that you get the L. at once. Be calm – love me – to-day – yesterday.

What longing in tears for you – You – my Life – my All – farewell. Oh, go on loving me – never doubt the faithfullest heart

Of your beloved

L

Ever thine.
Ever mine.
Ever ours.

-Ludwig van Beethoven

One thought on “Ever Thine. Ever Mine. Ever Ours.

  1. Pingback: love letters « Happy 'us' day

Leave a Reply

